Wedding Reviews

Weddings

A selection of recent messages and reviews very kindly sent to us by our couples who have held their wedding day at Stirk House, and their loved ones who joined them for their special day.

Mr. & Mrs. McGreavy

23rd September 2021

Well what can I say?? We had our wedding here on 23/09/21 and were absolutely blown away with it. The venue was absolutely stunning and the staff could not do enough for you – even allowing us to have a helicopter land in the grounds!! The star of the show has to be the master of ceremonies – Dave!! He made sure the day flowed perfectly and that our every need was attended to.

If anyone was thinking of having their special day here then without hesitation I would say do it!!! You definitely won’t regret it!

Sam Anderson

September 2021

We recently attended a wedding at Stirk House and stayed for one night in a Manor room. Wow, this place is stunning! The view of the house as you drive in is breathtaking. The grounds are immaculate. All staff were so polite and welcoming. The ceremony & reception rooms were beautifully decorated, and the outside terrace was gorgeous sat out in the sunshine.

Our room was available for check in after 3.30pm. Check in was quick and easy and we found our room on the 1st floor. It was spotless, and huge! The bed was so comfortable and the walk-in shower was a treat. We could see for miles over the countryside. We slept well and breakfast the next morning was delicious served by the really helpful staff, nothing was too much trouble to any of them.

We checked out at 10.30am and had a wander around the beautiful grounds. Such an amazing place. Thanks for a great stay and the most beautiful wedding for our friends.

Mr. & Mrs. Culshaw

 10th September 2021

Just had our wedding on Friday 10th September and was truly best day of our lives, Stirk have the most friendliest and caring staff and can’t do enough for you, every single guest said how lovely the atmosphere was there and how polite and helpful the staff are, I can’t fault them and wouldn’t of wanted to get married anywhere else, thank you to the Stirk House team for making our Disney fairytale wedding come true.

Tim O

September 2021

I recently attended a wedding at Stirk House and was impressed with every single element from check-in to the venue and food and staff. I have stayed in many hotels on my travels with work and would like to say this has to be one of the best experiences in a UK hotel.

Keep up the good work.

Mr. & Mrs. Cross

 12th August 2021

Excellent Wedding Venue. Amazing staff.

Me and my husband had our wedding at Stirk House on the 12.08.21 and it was incredible from start to finish.

I’d first come across it online whilst searching wedding venues 2yrs ago and fell in love just from the pictures but then seeing it in person was something else. The driveway, the grounds, the building were just stunning to look at as you drive up and I fell in love all over again.

The weddings team (Danielle, Lucy & Elisha) are absolutely amazing, and they couldn’t do enough for me. I must have had a million different questions over the 2yrs and they answered every single one so I didn’t have to worry over a single aspect of my day. Danielle was also there the morning of my wedding to help me out if I needed it.

The toastmaster/master of ceremonies Dave is one of the most amazing, loveliest people I have ever met. A loud jolly Yorkshire man, he was an absolute pleasure to be around and made sure our day ran smoothly from start to finish, even with me being late to the ceremony. Our guests all loved him, and he absolutely made the day. No one should ever get married without a Dave!

I cannot praise the whole weddings team enough.

The food, the drinks, the rooms, the grounds, the views. Everything about Stirk House was perfect and I couldn’t imagine getting married anywhere else. We really did have the best day of our lives here.

“Perfect”

By BlouBelle1, TripAdvisor: 21st August 2021

We attended a wedding here and we liked everything about Stirk House. Our family room for three people was very airy and spacious. The decor was modern, and tastefully traditional in the public areas. The actual wedding rooms, such as the one used for the ceremony and the dinner dance were utterly romantic. The food was excellent, and the staff were friendly and helpful. It is perfect in every way! Thanks for a wonderful time.

Mr. & Mrs. Johansson

19th August 2021

Hi everyone at Stirk,

THANK YOU so much from the bottom of our hearts for an incredible day on Thursday!!! We absolutely loved every second of it.

When we booked with you back in January 2020, we had no idea that we were about to plan a wedding in a pandemic but your team made it enjoyable despite all the uncertainty. You are all the perfect blend of professional and friendly and we knew we were in good hands right away! We are so happy and lucky to have been able to celebrate with 89 guests!

All our guests were wowed by the venue, the stunning grounds, the food and all the lovely decor that you helped to put together with our amazing suppliers.

Dave was fantastic too, he brought a dimension to our wedding that we wouldn’t have been without! We felt well looked after and he is such a breath of fresh air. We will always remember meeting Danielle when we first looked round, she made us feel so welcome and we were sold on Stirk straight away. You have all been wonderful, we are forever grateful. I’ve left a review from you both on fb today.

We look forward to returning to Stirk in future, for sure!

All our love, Mr & Mrs Johansson X

Louise & Harry (Mother of the Bride)

17th August 2021

Hi Danielle

I just wanted to put in writing what an absolutely amazing job you and your team did in ensuring that Tuesday was so perfect and went without a hitch.

You have been so wonderful during the whole planning process – enduring my endless questions and obsession about table cloths. Thank you for putting up with me, and especially for ironing all of the table cloths on the morning of the wedding. They looked perfect.

The venue looked stunning and Dave as always ran things with military precision, with true Lancashire spirit – a true gentleman, with such wit and humour.

The whole of the waiting on team served everything to perfection – efficient service with a smile, both at the wedding and at breakfast the following morning. The food was first class and many guests commented on the quality of it.

I can’t believe how quickly the venue was turned around ready for the next wedding on Wednesday. A true testament to such hardworking staff.

The bedrooms were spotlessly clean and very welcoming. Many guests commented on how comfy the beds were.

Please pass on my heartfelt thanks to everyone involved in the process however small their role, whether front or back of house. Helen must be justifiably proud of you all.

Thank you for giving us the perfect day.

May I take the opportunity to wish you and your fiancé a perfect day too on your forthcoming wedding.

Hope to see you soon
Much love
Elizabeth (and Tommy!)
Xxxxx

Mr. & Mrs. Swinnerton

8th August 2021

Wow! The beautiful Stirk House! We got married at Stirk House on Sunday 8th of August and after what seemed like a lifetime of planning and waiting… It really did live up to everything we hoped and dreamed of!

After visiting multiple venues across the North West last year we were blown away leaving Stirk! The grounds and hotel were stunning and the staff were so welcoming and helpful… We knew it was the venue for us! Honestly, the day was perfect from start to finish (even in the rain) and ourselves and our guests had the best time! This was our second wedding date (having had to cancel last year) but Danielle and Lucy made it as stress-free as possible and have been truly amazing from start to finish!

Dave (Master of Ceremonies)… What can we say… On the day Dave went above and beyond to make sure the day ran smoothly from start to finish. Nothing was ever too much and his spirit and enthusiasm meant that ourselves and all of our guests had a wonderful time! Everyone needs Dave on their wedding day and Stirk House are lucky to have him!

Thank you to all the team at Stirk for making our wedding day so special!

Mr. & Mrs. Dunleavy

7th August 2021

We got married on 7th August 2021, this was our 2nd date due to covid, so was long awaited.

Firstly I would like to say how amazing and understanding the wedding team were during all of the changes due to covid and made the process of changing our date incredibly easy and stress free.

The day itself was incredible, everything we wanted and more. The venue was stunning and the staff couldn’t do enough for us and our guests. Dave is one of the most jolly people I have ever met and I will forever hear the term “chief Bs” when thinking about my bridesmaids. Thank you so much to all at Stirk House for making our day so special xx

Mr. & Mrs. Cox

1st August 2021

We got married at Stirk House on 1st August 2021. We were one of the lucky couples who didn’t have to change our date due to the pandemic, however Danielle, Lucy and all the wedding team were so attentive and kept in touch with us throughout the whole planning process.

The day was the best day ever. Dave, the master of ceremonies, made our day even more special. His attention to detail is outstanding. We could not have chosen a more perfect wedding venue and would like to thank all staff at Stirk House for making it the day of our dreams.

From the new Mr and Mrs Cox

Mr. & Mrs. Bonner

28th July 2021

We got married on 28th July 2021 having postponed from July 2020 and it truly was the best day ever from start to finish. Stirk House as a venue is beautiful (plus the amazing grounds). We booked in April 2018 and from walking through the doors didn’t want to get married anywhere else.

The weddings team are amazing and were such a support through lockdown checking in with us and keeping us updated. Danielle, Lucy and Elisha are so helpful, and no question was too big or small. They truly go above and beyond.

Our day went so smoothly even if we did have torrential downpours! Lastly, a massive shout out to Dave who is just amazing & made all our guests so welcome. He’s so personable & makes you feel like your wedding is the wedding of the year. Our 2-year-old daughter now does fist pumps and high fives which are known as ‘Dave!’ It’s true that everybody needs Dave for their wedding day.

We wish we could get married all over again. Stirk House will always hold a special place in our hearts, and we can’t wait to come again soon xx

Mr. & Mrs. Carlton

25th July 2021

We first looked at wedding venues in 2018 and we’d seen 8 prior to visiting Stirk House.

As soon as we saw this venue, we knew it was where we wanted to get married and I’m so glad we did. We were one of the lucky few who got married on their original date and throughout the pandemic, the weddings team have been excellent. I’ve heard horror stories of how venues have treated their couples but it has been a dream working with the weddings team at Stirk House.

Even though Danielle had to isolate the day of our wedding, it all ran perfectly without any input from me or the groom because they are so organised in everything they do.

We stayed over the night before our wedding and the suite was perfect for me and my bridesmaids. The Honeymoon Suite is stunning as are the grounds and hotel and all the staff are so friendly and helpful.

We’d highly recommend Stirk House and would like to give a special thanks to Danielle and Dave for helping to make our day perfect. Mr and Mrs Carlton.

Mr. & Mrs. Hulme

3rd July 2021

We got married at Stirk House 3rd July 2021 and we honestly had the best day! The venue alone is absolutely beautiful, it speaks for itself but the staff are amazing!

Both Danielle and Lucy are so so good at their jobs, they’re really helpful and make your day perfect and run smoothly. Dave is also the best master of ceremonies around! He’s so funny and relaxed and engages with everyone! Thank you all so much.

Mr. & Mrs. Murphy

1st July 2021

What an absolutely amazing wedding day we had. We got married here 6 weeks ago after it being postponed a year and couldn’t have asked for a better day! Even with some restrictions still in place, it didn’t spoil a thing for us!

The staff couldn’t do enough for us, especially Danielle who has kept in touch with us the whole time & made everything so smooth & easy for us!! & Dave, who had us in stitches all day!! The grounds were stunning and I would recommend this venue to everyone!! Best day ever.